To the Spanish Presidency of the Council of the European Union

To the President of the European Council, Mr Charles Michel

To the President of the European Commission, Mrs Ursula Von Der Leyen

To the President of the European Parliament, Mrs Roberta Metsola

Subject: For an immediate, lasting and sustained humanitarian ceasefire leading to the cessation of the current escalation of violence

The United Nations General Assembly adopted, on October 27th, the resolution A/ES-10/L.25 on the "Protection of civilians and upholding legal and humanitarian obligations", in view of the grave deterioration of the situation in the region, in particular in the Gaza Strip and the rest of the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem, and in Israel.

Among other aspects, the Resolution calls for «an immediate, durable and sustained humanitarian truce leading to a cessation of hostilities»; demands the «immediate, continuous, sufficient and unhindered provision of essential goods and services to civilians throughout the Gaza Strip»; calls for «the rescinding of the order by Israel, the occupying Power, for Palestinian civilians and United Nations staff, as well as humanitarian and medical workers, to evacuate all areas in the Gaza Strip north of the Wadi Gaza and relocate to southern Gaza»; firmly rejects «any attempts at the forced transfer of the Palestinian civilian population»; and reaffirms that «a just and lasting solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict can only be achieved by peaceful means, based on the relevant United Nations resolutions and in accordance with international law, and on the basis of the two-State solution».

Therefore, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament:

Urge to the establishment of an immediate, lasting and sustained humanitarian ceasefire that leads to the cessation of the current escalation of violence in the Gaza Strip, the West Bank, East Jerusalem and Israel.

João Pimenta Lopes Sandra Pereira Alex Agius Saliba Alviina Alametsa Ana Miranda Anja Hazekamp Benoit Biteau Chris Macmanus Ciarán Cuffe Clare Daly Damien Careme Dimitrios Papadimoulis Dino Giarrusso Elena Kountoura Fabio Castaldo Francisco Guerreiro Giorgos Georgiou Grace O'Sullivan Helmut Scholz Idoia Villanueva Ruiz Irena Joveva **Isabel Santos** José Gusmão Josianne Cutajar Karen Melchior Katerina Konecna **Kostas Arvanitis Kostas Papadakis** Lefteris Nikolaou-Alavanos Leila Chaibi Luke "Ming" Flanagen M. Eugénia Rodriguéz Palop Malin Björk Manon Aubry Manu Pineda Marc Botenga Margrete Auken Maria Soraya Rodriguez Ramos Marina Mesure Mario Furore Marisa Matias Martin Buschmann Massimiliano Smeriglio Matjaž Nemec Mick Wallace Miguel Urbán Crespo Mounir Satouri Nikolaj Villumsen Niyazi Kızılyürek Özlem Demirel Petros Kokkalis Piernicola Pedicini Pierre Larrouturou Pietro Bartolo Rosa D'Amato Sabrina Pignedoli Sara Cerdas Saskia Bricmont Silvia Modig Sira Rego Sirpa Pietikäinen Stelios Kouloglou Tatjana Ždanoka Younous Omarjee