

Letter to the HR/VP Josep Borrell Fontelles and to the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the EU Member States on the First meeting of State Parties of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

Brussels, 15/06/2022

Dear High Representative, Dear Ministers of Foreign Affairs,

Nuclear security risks have grown in the last years. Dangerous posture changes and irresponsible nuclear threats linked to the war in Ukraine call for a starkly more resolute international mobilisation to reduce nuclear arsenals and achieve the elimination of the most dangerous weapons of mass destruction.

Long-term trends such as increased investments in the modernisation of arsenals and the race for nuclear-capable hypersonic missiles also aggravate nuclear risks and their catastrophic humanitarian consequences.

The Non-proliferation treaty (NPT) - to which all EU member states are parties - set in 1968 the obligation for nuclear-armed states to negotiate in good faith nuclear disarmament. In 2017 the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) was brought into existence by a coalition of non-nuclear armed states and global civil society and reinforced the nuclear-disarmament pillar of the NPT.

We hold the TPNW's obligations to be fully compatible with the NPT, and value the TPNW as an essential contribution to European security, and peace, as reflected by the Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons. Across the world, 62 States have ratified the Treaty and in December 2021, year of entry into force of this Treaty, 128 States reaffirmed their support for it at the UN General Assembly.

The EU and its Member States should not ignore or stay silent on this milestone treaty, which formally introduced a ban on the last and most dangerous class of weapons of mass destruction (biological and chemical weapons having already been banned). We therefore urge you, as HR/VP and Foreign Ministers of EU Member States, to attend as observers the First meeting of State Parties of the TPNW in Vienna on 21-23 June 2022.

We commend the EU Member States that already engage positively with this new Treaty, including Austria, Malta and Ireland - which have ratified it - and Germany, Finland and Sweden - which will observe the First meeting of State Parties. To take into account the positive position of these Member States, the HR/VP should attend this meeting, as EU representatives



did in the past for Treaties with partial EU membership, such as the Convention on Cluster Munitions (2011) and the Mine Ban Treaty (1999).

In this time of renewed international confrontation, we need more than ever to seek ways to reinforce nuclear arms control and disarmament, to prevent escalation and accidents, which would endanger life on the European continent, and across the world.

A group of Members of the European Parliament from several political groups will attend the First meeting of State Parties. We hope that you will attend.

Dear Mr Borrell, dear Ministers of Foreign Affairs, in the face of increased nuclear risks, there is a high need for a renewed commitment across EU governments and institutions to pursue global nuclear disarmament concretely.

Yours sincerely,

Mounir Satouri, Greens/EFA Lukas Mandl, EPP Brando Benifei, S&D Barry Andrews, Renew Europe Özlem Demirel, The Left Philippe Lamberts, Greens/EFA Joachim Schüster, S&D Nikolaj Villumsen, The Left Rosa D'Amato, Greens/EFA Michèle Rivasi, Greens/EFA David Cormand, Greens/EFA Yannick Jadot, Greens/EFA Benoît Biteau, Greens/EFA Marie Toussaint, Greens/EFA Damien Carême, Greens/EFA Gwendoline Delbos-Corfield, Greens/EFA Claude Gruffat, Greens/EFA Caroline Roose, Greens/EFA François Alfonsi, Greens/EFA



Karima Delli, Greens/EFA Monica Semedo, Renew Europe Dietmar Köster, S&D Dimitrios Papadimoulis, The Left Milan Brglez, S&D Tilly Metz, Greens/EFA Karen Melchior, Renew Europe Anja Hazekamp, The Left Andreas Schieder, S&D Malte Gallée, Greens/EFA Hannah Neumann, Greens/EFA Idoia Villanueva Ruiz, The Left Malin Björk, The Left Georgios Kyrtsos, Renew Europe Katrin Langensiepen, Greens/EFA Günther Sidl, S&D Marc Botenga, The Left Bettina Vollath, S&D Alviina Alametsä, Greens/EFA Sira Rego, The Left Manu Pineda, The Left Ciarán Cuffe, Greens/EFA Grace O'Sullivan, Greens/EFA Eleonora Evi, Greens/EFA Ernest Urtasun, Greens/EFA Marisa Matias, The Left José Gusmão, The Left María Eugenia Rodríguez Palop, The Left Giuliano Pisapia, S&D Othmar Karas, EPP