Hon. Mr President of the European Parliament, Dear David Sassoli,

Since March, when the outbreak of COVID-19 intensified in Europe, the functioning of the European Parliament (EP) has changed dramatically, due to the sanitary measures applied. We understand the inevitability of the contingency plan, taking into account the need to prevent infection and the spread of the virus and to protect the health and lives of people. Six months later, the functioning of the EP is gradually returning to normal. However, there are services whose unavailability seriously impairs parliamentary work, namely the interpretation service.

The European Union (EU) has 24 official languages and all deserve the same respect and treatment. We recognize that the number of languages available in committee meeting rooms has been increasing, but even so, more than half of the languages still have no interpretation. Multilingualism is a right enshrined in the Treaties that allows Members to express themselves in their own language. Now, that is not happening and we are concerned that the situation will continue, even taking into account the expected workflow in the commissions after these atypical six months.

In this sense, we appeal, once again, to you, the President of the EP for the application of the letter and the spirit of the principle of multilingualism, finding solutions that respect this principle and that allow the use of any of the 24 official languages of the EU. The expression of each deputy in her/his own language is a priority so that there can be conditions to fully exercise the mandate for which she/he was elected and a condition of respect for the citizens who elected her/him.

Sincerely, João FERREIRA Sandra PEREIRA Asim ADEMOV Clara AGUILERA **Andris AMERIKS Konstantinos ARVANITIS Petras AUSTREVICIUS** Traian BĂSESCU Benoît BITEAU Malin BJORK Vilija BLINKEVIČIŪTĖ Franc BOGOVIČ Manuel BOMPARD Milan BRGLEZ Damien CARÊME Isabel CARVALHAIS Sara CERDAS Leila CHAIBI Miroslav ČĺŽ David CORMAND

Clare DALY

Salvatore DE MEO

Özlem DEMIREL

Pascal DURAND

Laurence FARRENG

Isabel GARCÍA MUÑOZ

Alexandra GEESE

Giorgos GEORGIO

Sunčana GLAVAK

Francisco GUERREIRO

José GUSMÃO

Robert HAJŠEL

Romana JERKOVIĆ

Petra KAMMEREVERT

Niyazi KIZILYUREK

Łukasz KOHUT

Stelios KYMPOUROPOULOS

Maria Manuel LEITÃO MARQUES

Miriam LEXMANN

Nathalie LOISEAU

César LUENA

Chris MACMANUS

Marisa MATIAS

Emmanuel MAUREL

Costas MAVRIDES

Karen MELCHIOR

Roberta METSOLA

Martina MICHELS

Cláudia MONTEIRO DE AGUIAR

Ville NIINISTÖ

Demetris PAPADAKIS

Jutta PAULUS

Mauri PEKKARINEN

Anne-Sophie PELLETIER

Manu PINEDA

Manuel PIZARRO

Peter POLLÁK

Sira REGO

Eugenia RODRÍGUEZ PALOP

Inmaculada RODRÍGUEZ-PIÑERO

Bronis ROPĖ

Isabel SANTOS

Annie SCHREIJER-PIERIK

Ivan Vilibor SINČIĆ

Romana TOMC

Marie TOUSSAINT

Miguel URBAN CRESPO

Idoia VILLANUEVA RUIZ Nikolaj VILLUMSEN Mick WALLACE Salima YENBOU Juan Ignacio ZOIDO ÁLVAREZ Carlos ZORRINHO Željana ZOVKO Milan ZVER